Durban is in the Kwa-Zulu Natal Province, once known as the Natal Colony and Port Natal, and the former territory of the Zulu king, Shaka. Well known for its warmer climate, Durban is located along the extensive Kwa-Zulu Natal coastline and is the busiest port in Africa.

Kwa Zulu natal, also commonly referred to as The Kingdom Of The Zulus Zulu people, has a proud Zulu heritage where Zulu warrior ancestors inhabited the province before the coming of the European colonial powers. The heritage of the amaZulu is very evident in the region north of the Tugela River, known as Zululand, where legendary King Shaka once ruled supreme and today is where most of KwaZulu-Natal’s game parks are to be found.

Although much of Durban is characterised by British colonial architecture, the city is actually an exciting mix of cultures. There is a large Indian community, descendants of indentured labourers who came to work on the Natal sugar estates in the 1850s and who provide the city with an intoxicating oriental flavour enhanced by their shrines, bazaars and tantalising curry restaurants.

With the end of apartheid, Durban was subject to restructuring of local government. The eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality was formed in 1994 after South Africa’s first multiracial elections. In 1996, the city was changed to Durban UniCity and to eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality in 1999.

The name of the Durban municipal government, prior to the post-apartheid reorganisations of municipalities, was the Durban Corporation or City of Durban.